Is Flash coming to an End?

I recently ran across an article that stated Microsoft may get rid of plug-ins such as Adobe Flash in the new Internet Explorer 10 and Windows 8. (Read article here)

Apparently these changes will be made in support of the new plug-in free experience for those into the “touch-centric”, “Metro-style” interface.

According to Dean Hachamovtich (leader of Microsoft’s internet explorer team),

“For the web to move forward and for consumers to get the most out of touch-first browsing, the Metro style browser in Windows 8 is as HTML5-only as possible and plug-in free…  The experience that plug-ins provide today is not a good match with Metro style browsing and the modern HTML5 web.”

As an Interactive Media Graduate student, I’ve been learning how to create animation with Adobe Flash. This article makes me wonder, will the things I’m learning be relevant in the next few years? Am I wasting time learning this software? Should instead turn my attention to new programs of the future such as HTML5?

For now, in spite of these questions in the back of my mind, I believe Adobe Flash  will remain relevant.  Although people using Apple software (iPads and iPhones)  may not agree with this, I don’t see the demise of Adobe Flash anywhere in the near future.  Technology changes and advances quickly, and I’m sure Adobe Flash will invent changes that would allow them to incorporate the plug-in for Internet Explorer 10.

Personally, I love Flash and the things it allows me to create. Even if Adobe Flash dies out in the years to come, I an sure the things I’m learning will be beneficial if new animation software was to come along. The great thing about our technology is that it typically evolves from it’s predecessors, while using some of the same concepts. Therefore I will continue to learn Adobe Flash and it’s coding language ActionScript with anticipation of what the future will bring.

To learn about the origin of Adobe Flash check out this post.

Leave a Reply

