Experiments with Augmented Reality

This week in Theory and Audience Analysis, we discussed Augmented Reality(AR). Initially, I didn’t know much about AR, but now I do. The Wikipedia definition of Augmented reality is:

“a term for a live direct or indirect view of a physical, real-world environment whose elements are augmented by computer-generated sensory input such as sound, video, graphics or GPS data. It is related to a more general concept called mediated reality, in which a view of reality is modified (possibly even diminished rather than augmented) by a computer.”

Basically it’s adding images through special techniques or programs over top of things actually seen in Reality. This technique can actually be pretty cool and helpful in adding a little pop of interactivity. For example, there is a video that shows how a national geographic museum could be more interactive using AR (check out the video here)

I decided to try to make my own AR game. I found an easy to follow tutorial (check out the tutorial here)that uses Adobe Flash to accomplish the task. The first time around I used a Marker (which actually looks like a QR code) provided through the files I downloaded. While using the web cam, it recognizes the Marker and displays a 3D image coded in ActionScript. Check out the video below:

Then I tried changing the globe image to my name…it worked out pretty well:


Next I made my own AR Marker using an image I made in Photoshop. You can learn how to make your own marker here. I used the Marker to display a 3D cube:

Pretty cool, right? I will continue to experiment with AR applications because I have a feeling we’ll be seeing a lot more of these applications in the future!

Leave a Reply

